The Eurocode family

This chapter shows how to use Eurocode 21 with the other Eurocodes. In particular it introduces Eurocode: Basis of structural design2 and Eurocode 1: Actions on structures3 and guides the designer through the process of determining the design values for actions on a structure. It also gives a brief overview of the significant differences between the Eurocodes and BS 81104, (which will be superseded) and includes a glossary of Eurocode terminology.

The development of the Eurocodes started in 1975; since then they have evolved significantly and are now claimed to be the most technically advanced structural codes in the world. The many benefits of using Eurocode 2 are summarised below. There are ten Eurocodes covering all the main structural materials (see Figure 1).They are produced by the European Committee for Standardization (CEN), and will replace existing national standards in 28 countries.

Each country is required to publish a Eurocode with a national title page and forward but the original text of the Eurocode must appear as produced by CEN as the main body of the document. A National Annex (NA) can be included at the back of the document (see Figure 2). Throughout this publication it is assumed that the UK National Annexes will be used.

Table 1 details which existing standards relating to concrete design will be replaced by the new Eurocodes. During the implementation period it is recommended that existing standards are considered for use where the European standards have not yet been issued.

This chapter is taken from The Concrete Centre's publication, How to design concrete structures using Eurocode 2 (Ref. CCIP-006)

eunop codeĀ®

The Concrete Centreā„¢

Figure 1 The Eurocodes

Figure 1 The Eurocodes

Eurocode Zone For Snow Load

Figure 2

Typical Eurocode layout

Figure 2

Typical Eurocode layout

Beam And Block Floor Dimensions

Table 1

Concrete related Eurocodes and their equivalent current standards

Table 1

Concrete related Eurocodes and their equivalent current standards



Superseded standards

BS EN 1990

Basis of structural design

BS 8110: Part 1 - section 2

BS EN 1991-1-1

Densities, self-weight and imposed loads

BS 6399: Part 1 and BS 648

BS EN 1991-1-2

Actions on structures exposed to fire


BS EN 1991-1-3

Snow loads

BS 6399: Part 2

BS EN 1991-1-4

Wind actions

BS 6399: Part 3

BS EN 1991-1-5

Thermal actions


BS EN 1991-1-6

Actions during execution


BS EN 1991-1-7

Accidental actions


BS EN 1991-2

Traffic loads on bridges

BD 37/88

BS EN 1991-3

Actions induced by cranes and machinery


BS EN 1991-4

Silos and tanks


BS EN 1992-1-1

General rules for buildings

BS 8110: Parts 1,2 and 3

BS EN 1992-1-2

Fire resistance of concrete structures

BS 8110: Part 1,Table 3.2 and BS 8110: Part 2, section 4

BS EN 1992-2


BS 5400: Part 4

BS EN 1992-3

Liquid-retaining and containment structures

BS 8007

BS EN 1997-1

Geotechnical design -General rules

BS 6031, BS 8002, BS 8004, BS 8006, BS 8008 & BS 8081

BS EN 1997-2

Geotechnical design - Ground investigation and testing

BS 5930

BS EN 1998

Design of structures for earthquake resistance (6 parts)


Was this article helpful?

0 0
Greener Homes for You

Greener Homes for You

Get All The Support And Guidance You Need To Be A Success At Living Green. This Book Is One Of The Most Valuable Resources In The World When It Comes To Great Tips on Buying, Designing and Building an Eco-friendly Home.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment