Scope of Eurocode

Eurocode 8, Design of Structures for Earthquake Resistance, covers, as its title suggests, the EN 1998-1: earthquake-resistant design and construction of buildings and other civil engineering works clauses 1.1.1(1), in seismic regions. Its stated purpose is to protect human life and property in the event of I.I.I(2), earthquakes and to ensure that structures which are important for civil protection remain 1.1.1(4), operational. 1.1.3(1)

Eurocode 8 has six parts, listed in Table 1.1. Among them, only Parts 1 (EN 1998-1, General Rules, Seismic Actions and Rules for Buildings)1 and 5 (EN 1998-1, Foundations, Retaining Structures and Geotechnical Aspects)2 are covered in this Designers' Guide.

The scope of Eurocode 8 does not (fully) cover special edifices, notably nuclear power plants, offshore structures and large dams.

Greener Homes for You

Greener Homes for You

Get All The Support And Guidance You Need To Be A Success At Living Green. This Book Is One Of The Most Valuable Resources In The World When It Comes To Great Tips on Buying, Designing and Building an Eco-friendly Home.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment